On A Hill Far Away…

On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross
The emblem of suffering and shame
And I love that old cross where the dearest and best
For a world of lost sinners was slainSo I’ll cherish the old rugged cross

On a hill far away Jesus laid down His life, but rose again that we might have eternal life. Could there be a greater love? No! There is no greater love, than a friend that would lay down his life.

In this Lent season we come together to appreciate and worship Christ for His sacrificial love. The Lamb that was slain for the propitiations of the sins of the world. Note that no one took His life, He laid down His life.

Propitiation is an action meant to regain someone’s favor or make up for something you did wrong. Propitiation comes from a form of the Latin verb “propitiare,” which means “to appease.”

Lyrics to Song

On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross
The emblem of suffering and shame
And I love that old cross where the dearest and best
For a world of lost sinners was slain

So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross, Till my trophies at last I lay down
And I will cling to the old rugged cross
And exchange it some day for a crown, To the old rugged cross I will ever be true
It’s shame and reproach gladly bear
Then he’ll call me someday to my home far away
Where his glory forever I’ll share

And I’ll cherish the old rugged cross
Till my trophies at last I lay down
And I will cling to the old rugged cross
And exchange it some day for a crownI will cling to the old rugged cross
And exchange it some day for a crown

On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross
The emblem of suffering and shame
And I love that old cross where the dearest and best
For a world of lost sinners was slain, So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross

A Prayer of Gratitude

Holy and most precious Father, our hearts are overwhelmed with gratification, and with love, because You first loved us. You died that we might have life, and life more abundantly. During this special season we remember the crown of thorns, the nails in Your side, and with Your stripes we are healed. We remember the blood that came streaming down, we remember how Jesus reconciled us. Help make us better, help us to present our bodies a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to you, cut off the pathway and people who would cause us to stumble and fall.

Use us for your glory, let your word premiate our lives, our financially situation, our relationships, and our walk with you Jesus, let your will be done all around this world. We will bless your name, because you are God, the most Holy One, and for that we give You praise. We will give you the glory Jesus, because it is in that name that we are not consumed, Lord. It’s in the name of our soon coming King, that we remember your sacrifice, or that we move, live and have our being. We pray that you will be able to get the glory from our lives. Thank you Jesus! Amen!

Encourage Yourself: To God be the Glory! Thank God for all of the people across the globe, and may the peace of God go with you. Go out and tell someone about the love of Christ.

Author: Courtney Rowe

Hello beautiful people! My name is Courtney, Anita's daughter. Mother of three beautiful little boys; an 10 month old, and five year old twins. Chase, Tyler and Mark. I love blogging, people, and traveling. I am a native Tucsonan. I am a Only child. Absolutely loved by my parents, and I guess a little spoiled a well. I have always wanted to write, in high school as well as college. I used to write on-stop It oak me a while, but now I have a much better platform. I pray something is said to help carry you throughout the day. Please feel free to leave a comment, impart some wisdom or knowledge. You never out grow your need to learn. Thank you! Courtney Ann

2 thoughts on “On A Hill Far Away…”

I would love to hear from you

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.